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PURPOSE

A circulation policy informs users and organizational authorities of the conditions under which
materials may be removed from the library.

GENERAL GUIDELINES

Materials must be checked out from and returned to the circulation desk of one of the

following:

e Wisconsin State Law Library, 120 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., 2" Floor, P.O. Box 7881,
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7881

e Milwaukee County Law Library, Courthouse Room G8, 901 N. 9™ St., Milwaukee,
Wisconsin 53233

e Dane County Law Library, Dane County Courthouse Room L1007, 215 S. Hamilton St.,
Madison, Wisconsin 53703.

Attorneys licensed to practice law in Wisconsin may also borrow materials by mail. Contact the
Wisconsin State Law Library Reference Desk for information.

All materials are subject to immediate return if requested by a member of the Supreme Court of
Wisconsin.

USE AND CIRCULATION OF LIBRARY MATERIALS

The library is available for on-site use by anyone. Materials circulate only to registered and
authorized borrowers.

A. REGISTERED BORROWERS
Persons eligible for registered borrower status include:
Officers and employees of the Wisconsin judiciary
Officers and employees of the state legislature
Officers and employees of federal, state, county and municipal government agencies
Private attorneys licensed to practice in Wisconsin and in good standing

B. AUTHORIZED BORROWERS
A registered borrower may authorize any number of support staff members to have
circulation privileges. Authorized borrowers may include secretaries, paralegals, law
clerks, librarians, aides, and messengers.

An authorized borrower may check out materials on behalf of his or her authorizing
registered borrower(s). Registered borrowers are held responsible for all materials
checked out by their authorized borrowers.
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LOAN PERIODS

Most circulating materials are loaned for a period of seven days. Materials designated Non-
Circulating must be used on-site. Please refer to the following list:

A. SEVEN DAY LOAN MATERIALS

. Most Treatises

o National Reporter System volumes

o American Law Reports, all series

o Periodicals (law reviews & journals)

. State materials, including statutes, session laws, and case reporters for states
other than Wisconsin

o Federal government documents

. Multimedia materials, including videos in the Prose & Cons legal fiction
collection

o Circulating materials located in Compact Storage

B. TWO DAY LOAN MATERIALS
. U.S. Code Annotated (USCA)
J Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
. Selected copies of high-demand Treatises

C. NONCIRCULATING MATERIALS

o Materials in the Reference and Ready Reference areas

o Selected copies of high-demand Treatises

o Looseleaf services in looseleaf-type binders

o Digests, indexes, and other finding aids

o U.S. Code Service

o Shepard's Citations

o Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS)

. American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur 2d)

o Wisconsin Supreme Court & Court of Appeals Briefs & Appendices
o Materials located in the Rare Books Room and the Locked Cases
. Any other materials marked "For Reference Use Only"

Books and audio books in the Prose & Cons legal fiction collection are loaned for 30 days.

All items circulated by mail are loaned for 21 days (3 weeks), unless a different time period is
authorized by the Circulation Manager or a Reference Librarian.

RENEWALS



In order to most efficiently serve the greatest number of borrowers, the library has established
the loan periods stated above. However, in order to accommodate individual user needs, the
library may grant an extension of those loan periods.

The renewal period is equal to the original loan period for the requested item. Exception:
materials circulated by mail, which have a 3-week loan period, may be renewed for one
additional week. The renewal period begins on the date the renewal is entered into the
automated circulation system.

Items may be renewed a maximum of two times. Exception: materials circulated by mail may
be renewed once. In all cases, no renewals will be granted for materials that have been
requested by another user or that the library requires to be returned for updating or binding.

Borrowers may renew their materials online via the library website http://wilawlibrary.gov or
by contacting the library at 608-266-1600, 800-322-9755 or wsll.ref@wicourts.gov .

HOLDS AND RECALLS

A. HOLDS
The library accepts requests to notify users upon the return of materials currently in
circulation. The library also accepts telephone requests to set aside materials for
borrowers who will be coming or sending an authorized borrower to the library to check
them out.

B. RECALLS
The library accepts requests to recall overdue materials which are in circulation. If the
needed materials are checked out to the Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of
Appeals, library staff will do their best to make the materials available to the requester
for brief on-site use or photocopying.

Holds and recalls will be held at the circulation desk for three business days. They will not be
made available for loan to other patrons, with the exception of members of the Wisconsin
Supreme Court or Court of Appeals.

OVERDUES & FINES

Fines for overdue materials are 25¢ per item per day. Fines accrue from the day after the due
date until the item(s) are renewed or returned, to a maximum of $10.00 per item. Fines do not
accrue for days on which the library is closed.

The library offers a two-day grace period on materials checked out at the library, and a five-day
grace period on materials circulated by mail. If materials are checked in within the applicable
grace period, no fines are assessed.

In addition to paying overdue fines, borrowers who fail to return materials by the due date are
subject to the following actions:


http://wilawlibrary.gov/
mailto:wsll.ref@wicourts.gov

A OVERDUE NOTICE
One week after an item is due, the library will send the borrower a notice reminding that
fines are accruing and requesting the item be returned as soon as possible.

B. BILLING INVOICE
Two weeks after an item is due, the library will send the borrower a billing invoice for
the replacement cost of the item, including a $20 fee to cover the library’s costs for
ordering and processing the replacement item. Payment is due immediately upon receipt
of the invoice. If the borrower returns the item, the replacement cost is waived and the
borrower is responsible only for the overdue fines that have accrued.

C. PRIVILEGES SUSPENDED
Anytime a borrower has outstanding fines or bills equaling $3.00 or more, his or her
borrowing privileges are suspended. Privileges are reinstated upon payment in full of
all outstanding charges.

D. PAYMENT
Fines and billing invoices may be paid by cash or check, in person or by mail (do not
mail cash). Payment of billing invoices is due immediately upon receipt.

Payments for fines or billing invoices are nonrefundable.
CONFIDENTIALITY

Wisconsin Statutes, Sec. 43.30, states in part that records of any library which is in whole or in
part supported by public funds indicating the identity of any individual who borrows or uses the
library's documents or other materials, resources, or services may not be disclosed except by
court order or to persons acting within the scope of their duties in the administration of the
library or library system or to persons authorized by the individual to inspect such records.

In order to maintain the confidentiality of the research being conducted by library users, and in
accordance with Wisconsin Statutes Sec. 43.30, the State Law Library's circulation records are
kept confidential.

The Library does not disclose the names of users who have materials in circulation, nor does it
disclose, without the individual’s permission, what materials are checked out to any given
individual.

POLICY REVISIONS

This policy may be revised without notice. However, in the event of revisions to loan periods,
materials in circulation prior to the loan period revision remain subject to the loan period that
was in effect on the date the materials were checked out.



