New Cardholder Information
Welcome! We can help you check out library materials, log in to legal research databases, and help with other legal research questions. The library is open from 8-5 Monday-Friday. Get hours, contact information, and maps for our Madison and Milwaukee libraries.
Check out library books and videos at our 3 libraries in Madison & Milwaukee or by mail*. 1 week checkout for most books or 3 weeks by mail. Our detailed borrowing policy tells the rest.
*Delivery by mail is available to residents outside of Dane and Milwaukee counties.
Renew at wilawlibrary.gov/renew or call 608-266-1600. Items can be renewed once.
Overdues are charged 25 cents per item per day. Accounts with $3 or more in overdue fines can not check out new items. Overdue items may also be billed for the full replacement cost.
Call 608-266-1600 to pay fines or ask questions.
Log in to read full text articles and primary law in HeinOnline* Index to Legal Periodicals, Index to Legal Periodicals, & more.
*Only cardholders in firms with fewer than 25 attorneys may log in to HeinOnline.
Copies & forms
Get cases & forms emailed to you, KeyCite & Shepard's reports, and copies from library-use-only items.
Ask us for help borrowing items from other libraries.
After Hours use
Visit the library on your schedule.
Sign up to use the library before we open, after we close, and on weekends and holidays.
- Borrow by Mail
- Code of Conduct and Milwaukee County Law Library Code of Conduct
- Computers & Internet
- Interlibrary Loan
- Order a Document
- Wisconsin State Law Library floor plan
- Start Here topical research guides
- Where can I find? A call number guide to legal topics at the Wisconsin State Law Library