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WISCONSIN STATE LAW LIBRARY 
Interlibrary Loan Policy 

 
Our staff can borrow materials and request copies from library collections in the United 
States and worldwide. Library users who have, or are eligible for a library card may 
submit requests for materials not available at other local area libraries. The library does 
not place interlibrary loan requests for items already owned. Requested items generally 
take 1 to 2 weeks to arrive. Some lending libraries may offer rush delivery for an 
additional fee. 

 

 
 
To Place a Request 

 
• Gather any information you have that will help us identify the item you are 

requesting, such as the citation, title, author, date, etc. 
• Contact our Reference Desk or fill out the online request form. 
• Provide your name and phone number; bibliographic information such as author, 

title, edition, volume, year published, etc., any time limitations; and a maximum 
dollar amount you are willing to pay. 

 
Interlibrary Loan Fees 

 
• There is no fee to make an ILL request. Users will pay lending fees if any are 

charged by the lending library. 
• Lending libraries generally charge $10 - 15 per volume for loans. 
• Copy charges depend upon lending library fees and the length of the 

requested item. 
• Some libraries may not charge a fee for lending and copy services. 

 
Delivery 

 
• Our staff will contact you when the requested materials are available. Materials can 

be picked up at the State Law Library's Circulation Desk. Milwaukee County Law 
Library and Dane County Law Library borrowers may pick up requested materials 
at those libraries. 

• Alternative delivery methods are available for an additional fee; please see Fees & 
Policies. 

 
Requests from Other Libraries 

 
• The Wisconsin State Law Library accepts interlibrary loan requests from other 

libraries. Requests may be submitted through OCLC or by ALA form, phone, fax, 
or email. 

• A $15 per volume fee is charged to borrowing libraries for loan of materials. 
Copy services are also available for a fee. Rush delivery is available for 
additional charges. Please see Fees & Policies.
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Copyright Notice 

 
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the 
making of copies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Copies or other 
reproductions can be furnished only under certain conditions, if they will be used solely 
for private study, scholarship, or research. Use of the reproduction for other purposes 
may make the user liable for copyright infringement. The Wisconsin State Law Library 
reserves the right to refuse an interlibrary loan request if, in its judgment, fulfilling the 
request would constitute a violation of copyright law. 


