1465A WIS JI-CRIMINAL 1465A

1465A OPERATING WITHOUT OWNER’S CONSENT: AFFIRMATIVE
DEFENSE - § 943.23(2), (3), (3m)

Statutory Definition of the Crime
ADD THE FOLLOWING AT THE END OF WIS JI-CRIMINAL 1464, 1464A,
OR 1465 IF THERE IS EVIDENCE OF THE AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE
PROVIDED IN SUB. (3m) OF § 943.23
If you find the defendant guilty, you must answer the following question:

“Did the defendant abandon the (vehicle) (commercial motor vehicle) without
damage within 24 hours after the (vehicle) (commercial motor vehicle) was taken
from the possession of the owner?”

“Abandon” means that the defendant must have freely, voluntarily, and
permanently given up possession of the (vehicle) (commercial motor vehicle).!

USE THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPHS IF RAISED BY THE EVIDENCE:?

[The giving up of possession is not free and voluntary if it is done because of fear
of immediate capture by police.]

[A person who sells or gives the (vehicle) (commercial motor vehicle) to another
person has not abandoned it within the meaning of the statute.]

You must answer the question “yes” if the defendant proves by evidence which
satisfies you to a reasonable certainty by the greater weight of the credible evidence that
the answer is “yes.”>

If you are not so satisfied, you should answer the question “no.”*
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Evidence has greater weight when it has more convincing power than the evidence
opposed to it. Credible evidence is evidence which in the light of reason and common

sense is worthy of belief.

COMMENT

Wis JI-Criminal 1465A was approved by the Committee in April 2003. This revision was approved
by the Committee in December 2018; it adds the option of “commercial motor vehicle” to the language of
the instruction.

This instruction addresses the affirmative defense set forth in sub. (3m) of § 943.23, as created by
2001 Wisconsin Act 109. Effective date: February 1, 2003. The defense reduces violations of sub. (2) or
(3) to Class A misdemeanor. The statute provides that “the defendant who raises this affirmative defense
has the burden of proving the defense by a preponderance of the evidence.”

A similar defense existed in § 943.23 until it was repealed by 1993 Wisconsin Act 92. The
Committee concluded that the interpretation of that provision applies to the current statute. See the
discussion in footnote 1, below.

The Committee concluded that although not specifically enumerated in § 943.23(3m), this
affirmative defense applies to “commercial motor vehicles” based on the language provided in §
943.23(2g) and (3g).

The Committee recommends that the affirmative defense be presented to the jury in the form of a
special question. The following form is suggested for the verdict:

We, the jury, find the defendant guilty of operating without the owner's consent under Wis. Stat. §
943.23, at the time and place charged in the information.

We, the jury, find the defendant not guilty.
If you find the defendant guilty, answer the following question “yes” or “no”:

“Did the defendant abandon the vehicle without damage within 24 hours after the vehicle was taken
from the possession of the owner?”

1. This definition was included in the uniform instruction for a similar defense recognized by the
version of the statute in effect until 1993. The Committee believed this to be consistent with State v.
Olson, 106 Wis.2d 572, 587, 317 N.W.2d 448 (1982), which held that the term “abandons” requires
“voluntary relinquishment of possession.” Abandonment does not exist where a defendant leaves the
vehicle only when arrest and apprehension appears imminent. 106 Wis.2d 572, 586.
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2. The two paragraphs in brackets are believed to be consistent with the discussion of
abandonment in State v. Olson, supra, which interpreted the similar defense that applied to § 943 .23 until
being repealed in 1993:

... Under the defendant's construction of the term “abandons,” any person operating a vehicle
without the owner’s consent who had the foresight to leave the vehicle when his apprehension
and arrest appeared imminent would fall under the lesser misdemeanor penalty although he had
no intention of relinquishing possession of the vehicle if not for his imminent apprehension.
Such a result is clearly contrary to the intent of the statute.

Certainly, if, after a chase and after being ordered to pull over to the side of the road, the driver
steps out of the vehicle and hands the keys over to the law enforcement officer, it would be
ludicrous for the defendant to argue that a party has abandoned a vehicle.

State v. Olson, 106 Wis.2d 572 -at 586.
3.  Section 943 .23 (3m) provides: “A defendant who raises this affirmative defense has the burden
of proving the defense by a preponderance of the evidence.” The instruction uses the generally-accepted

statement of the civil burden: “to a reasonable certainty by the greater weight of the credible evidence.”

If the jury answers the question “yes,” the defense is established and the defendant should be found
guilty of the misdemeanor offense.

4. If the jury answers the question “no,” the defense is not established and the defendant should be
found guilty of one of the felony offenses, depending on the jury’s original finding.
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