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1494 FRAUDULENT INSURANCE CLAIM:  PRESENTING A FALSE OR 
FRAUDULENT CLAIM — § 943.395(1)(a) 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

Section 943.395 of the Criminal Code of Wisconsin is violated by one who presents a 

false or fraudulent claim to be paid under any contract or certificate of insurance, 

knowing the claim to be false or fraudulent. 

 State's Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following three elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. The defendant presented a claim to be paid under a contract or certificate of 

insurance. 

2. The claim was false or fraudulent. 

3. The defendant knew the claim was false or fraudulent. 

 Deciding About Knowledge 

You cannot look into a person's mind to find knowledge.  Knowledge must be found, 

if found at all, from the defendant's acts, words, and statements, if any, and from all the 

facts and circumstances in this case bearing upon knowledge. 
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 Jury's Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all three elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

IF A FELONY OFFENSE IS CHARGED, A JURY DETERMINATION OF 
VALUE MUST BE MADE.  ADD THE FOLLOWING IF THE EVIDENCE 
WOULD SUPPORT A FINDING THAT THE VALUE OF THE CLAIM WAS 
MORE THAN $2,500.1 

 
 [Determining the Value of the Claim] 

[If you find the defendant guilty, answer the following question: 

"Was the value of the claim more than $2,500?" 

Answer:   "yes" or "no." 

"Value" means the amount of the entire claim.2 

Before you may answer "yes," you must be satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that 

the value of the property was more than $2,500.] 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 1494 was originally published in 1996.  This revision was approved by the 
Committee in February 2003; it involved adoption of a new format and nonsubstantive changes in the 
text. 
 

This instruction is for violations of § 943.395(1)(a), which are punished as Class A misdemeanors if 
the amount of the false claim does not exceed $2,500 and as Class I felonies if the amount does exceed 
$2,500.  This amount was increased to $2,500 by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, effective date:  September 1, 
2001.  The felony class was changed to Class I by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109, effective date:  February 1, 
2003. 
 

1. By analogy to theft cases, the Committee concluded that the jury must make a finding of the 
value of the claim if the felony offense is charged and if the evidence supports a finding that the required 
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amount is involved.  Regarding theft cases, see Heyroth v. State, 275 Wis. 104, 81 N.W.2d 56 (1957).  
The amount making the offense a felony was increased to $2,500 by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, effective 
date:  September 1, 2001.  The felony class was changed to Class I by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109, effective 
date:  February 1, 2003.  While value may not, strictly speaking, be an element of the crime, it determines 
the range of permissible penalties and should be established "beyond a reasonable doubt."  The 
Committee concluded that if the misdemeanor offense is charged, the jury need not make a finding as to 
value. 

2. Whether the felony amount is exceeded is determined by reference to the value of the full claim.  
See State v. Briggs, 214 Wis.2d 281, 288-89, 571 N.W.2d 881 (Ct. App. 1997), where the court of 
appeals rejected the defendant's argument that the statute required that the false portion of the claim 
exceed the designated amount, which at the time of Briggs was $1,000. 


