1497A WIS JI-CRIMINAL 1497A

14997A FRAUDULENT USE OF A FINANCIAL TRANSACTION CARD — §
943.41(5)(a)l.b.

Statutory Definition of the Crime

Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card, as defined in § 943.41(5)(a) of the
Criminal Code of Wisconsin, is committed by one who, with intent to defraud another,’
obtains money, goods, services, or anything else of value by representing without consent
of the cardholder that the person is the holder of a specified card.?

State's Burden of Proof

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by
evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following three elements
were present.

Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove
1. The defendant obtained (money) (goods) (service) (anything of value) by
representing that (he) (she) was the holder of a financial transaction card.

A "financial transaction card" is an instrument or device issued by a business
organization or financial institution for the use of the cardholder in (obtaining
anything on credit) (certifying or guaranteeing the availability of funds sufficient
to honor a draft or check) (gaining access to an account).?

2. The defendant was not the person to whom the card was issued* and acted
without that person's consent.>

3. The defendant acted with intent to defraud another.
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"Another" includes the issuer of the card or any person or organization
providing money, goods, services, or anything else of value, or any other
person.®

"Intent to defraud" is an intent to obtain something of value by deception or
representation known to be false.’
Deciding About Intent

You cannot look into a person's mind to find intent. Intent must be found, if found at
all, from the defendant's acts, words, and statements, if any, and from all the facts and
circumstances in this case bearing upon intent.

Jury's Decision

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all three elements of this offense
have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty.

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty.

IF A FELONY OFFENSE IS CHARGED, A JURY DETERMINATION OF

VALUE MUST BE MADE. ADD THE FOLLOWING IF THE EVIDENCE

WOULD SUPPORT A FINDING THAT THE VALUE OBTAINED WAS

MORE THAN THE AMOUNT STATED IN THE QUESTION.?

[Determining Value]

[If you find the defendant guilty, answer the following question:

("Was the value of the (money) (goods) (service) ( ) obtained more than
$10,000?" Answer: "yes" or "no.")
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("Was the value of the (money) (goods) (service) () obtained more than
$5,000?" Answer: "yes" or "no.")

("Was the value of the (money) (goods) (service) (____ ) obtained more than
$2,500?" Answer: "yes" or "no.")

"Value" means the amount of the transaction(s).
Before you may answer "yes," you must be satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that

the answer to that question is "yes."]

COMMENT
Wis JI-Criminal 1497A was approved by the Committee in February 2003.

This instruction is for violations of sub. (5)(a)l.b. of § 943.41. For violations of sub. (5)(a)l.a., see
Wis JI-Criminal 1497.

The penalty structure for § 943.41 was revised by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109 [effective date:
February 1, 2003]. The revised penalties, determined by reference to a single transaction or separate
transactions within a period of 6 months, are as follows:

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $2,500 but not $5,000, the offense is a Class I felony;

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $5,000 but not $10,000, the offense is a Class H
felony; and,

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $10,000, the offense is a Class G felony.

1. The full statement in the statute is "intent to defraud the issuer, a person or organization
providing money, goods or services or anything else of value or any other person." The general term
"another" is used in the initial statement of the offense in the opening paragraph but all possible targets of
the intent to defraud are included in the third element.

2. The statute also prohibits representing that one is the holder of a card when a card has not in
fact been issued. That alternative is not addressed by this instruction.

3. The definition of "financial transaction card" is based on the one provided in § 943.41(1)(em).

4. This is based on the definition of "cardholder" provided in § 943.41(1)(b): "'Cardholder' means
the person to whom or for whose benefit a financial transaction card is issued."

5. If definition of "without consent" is believed to be necessary, see Wis JI-Criminal 948.
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6. This statement presents the alternative targets of the intent to defraud as set forth in § 943.41(5).
See note 1, supra.

7. The definition of "intent to defraud" is based on those provided in other instructions, tailored for
this defense. See, for example, Wis JI-Criminal 1405 and 1470.

8. By analogy to theft cases, the Committee concluded that the jury must make a finding of the
value of the claim if the felony offense is charged and if the evidence supports a finding that the required
amount is involved. Regarding theft cases, see Heyroth v. State, 275 Wis. 104, 81 N.W.2d 56 (1957).
While value may not, strictly speaking, be an element of the crime, it determines the range of permissible
penalties and should be established "beyond a reasonable doubt." The Committee concluded that if the
misdemeanor offense is charged, the jury need not make a finding as to value.

The amounts determining the penalty were changed twice during the 2000-2001 legislative session.
The amount making the offense a felony was increased to $2,500 by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, effective
date: September 1, 2001. The penalty structure was revised again by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109 [effective
date: February 1, 2003]. The revised penalties, determined by reference to a single transaction or
separate transactions within a period of 6 months, are as follows:

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $2,500 but not $5,000, the offense is a Class I felony;

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $5,000 but not $10,000, the offense is a Class H
felony; and,

- if the value of goods, etc., obtained exceeds $10,000, the offense is a Class G felony.

The questions in the instruction omits the upper limits of the categories for Class I and Class H
felonies; it is no defense that the value was actually greater than the amount alleged. More than one
question may be presented to the jury, however. If the evidence would allow a reasonable jury to find, for
example, that the value did not exceed $10,000 but did exceed $5,000, the two relevant questions could
be submitted.
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