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1498A RETAIL THEFT:  REMOVING A THEFT DETECTION DEVICE — § 
943.50(1m)(f) 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

Section 943.50(1m)(f) of the Criminal Code of Wisconsin is violated by one who, 

while anywhere in a merchant’s store, intentionally removes a theft detection device from 

merchandise held for resale1 without the merchant’s consent and with intent to deprive 

the merchant permanently of possession2 of the merchandise. 

 State’s Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following six elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. The defendant, while in the merchant’s store, intentionally removed a theft 

detection device from (property involved). 

“Theft detection device” means any tag or other device that is used to 

prevent or detect theft and that is attached to merchandise held for resale by a 

merchant.3 

2. (Property involved) was merchandise held for resale by a merchant.4 

3. The defendant knew that (property involved) was merchandise held for resale5 by 

a merchant. 

4. The merchant did not consent6 to removal of a theft detection device. 
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5. The defendant knew that the merchant did not consent. 

6. The defendant intended to deprive the merchant permanently of possession of the 

merchandise.7 

 Deciding About Intent and Knowledge 

You cannot look into a person’s mind to find intent or knowledge.  Intent and 

knowledge must be found, if found at all, from the defendant’s acts, words, and 

statements, if any, and from all the facts and circumstances in this case bearing upon 

intent and knowledge.8 

 Jury’s Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all six elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

IF FELONY RETAIL THEFT IS CHARGED, A JURY DETERMINATION OF 
VALUE MUST BE MADE.  ADD THE FOLLOWING IF THE EVIDENCE 
WOULD SUPPORT A FINDING THAT THE VALUE OF THE 
MERCHANDISE WAS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT STATED IN THE 
QUESTION.9 

 
 Determining Value 

If you find the defendant guilty, answer the following question: 

(“Was the value of the merchandise more than $10,000?” 

Answer:  “yes” or “no.”) 

(“Was the value of the merchandise more than $5,000?” 

Answer:  “yes” or “no.”) 
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(“Was the value of the merchandise more than $500?” 

Answer:  “yes” or “no.”) 

[“Value” means the (merchant’s stated price of the merchandise) (the difference 

between the merchant’s stated price of the merchandise and the altered price).10 

Before you may answer “yes,” you must be satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that 

the value of the property was more than the amount stated in the question.] 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 1498A was originally published in November 1998 and revised in 2003, 2012, and 
2019.  This revision was approved by the Committee in December 2019; it adds to the comment.  

 
This instruction is for the offense defined in sub. (1m)(f) of § 943.50, which was created by 1997 

Wisconsin Act 262 [effective date: June 23, 1998]. 
 
The basic offense is a Class A misdemeanor.  The penalty increases to a felony if the value of the 

stolen property exceeds specified amounts.  This amount distinguishing misdemeanors from felonies was 
decreased from $2,500 to $500 by 2011 Wisconsin Act 174.  [Effective date:  April 17, 2012.] 

 
Act 174 also created ss. 943.50(4m) which provides that “[W]hoever violates sub. (1m) (a), (b), (c), 

(d), (e), or (f) is guilty of a Class I felony if all of the following apply: 
 
(a) The value of the merchandise does not exceed $500. 
(b) The person agree or combines with another to commit the violation. 
(c) The person intends to sell the merchandise by means of the Internet.” 
 
In State v. Lopez, 2019 WI 101, 389 Wis.2d 156, 936 N.W.2d 125, the Wisconsin Supreme Court 

affirmed the court of appeals decision in State v. Lopez, 2019 WI App 2, 385 Wis.2d 482, 922 N.W.2d 
855, which held that the State may charge multiple acts of retail theft as one continuous offense pursuant 
to § 971.36(3)(a).  Nothing in § 971.36(3)(a) indicates that the legislature intended to limit the provision 
to a specific type or types of theft, therefore the statute is applicable to various types of theft, including 
retail theft under § 943.50(1m)(a) (e). 
 

1. Section 943.50(1m)(f) prohibits removing a theft detection device “from merchandise held for 
resale by a merchant or property of a merchant.”  The instruction is drafted for an offense involving 
“property held for resale by a merchant” and must be modified if “property of a merchant” was involved. 

2. The instruction does not include the following alternative from the statute:  intent to deprive the 
merchant permanently of “the full purchase price” of the merchandise.  The Committee concluded that a 
shielding device would be used only to steal the merchandise, not to reduce its stated price. 
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3. This is the definition provided in § 943.50(1)(ar). 

4. Section 943.50(1), as created by Chapter 270, Laws of 1981, provides that “merchant” includes 
those identified in § 402.104(3) as well as any innkeeper, motelkeeper, or hotelkeeper. 
 

Section 402.104(3) defines “merchant” as follows: 
 

“Merchant” means a person who deals in goods of the kind or otherwise by his or her 
occupation holds himself or herself out as having knowledge or skill peculiar to the practices or 
goods involved in the transaction or to whom such knowledge or skill may be attributed by his 
or her employment of an agent or broker or other intermediary who by his or her occupation 
holds himself or herself out as having such knowledge or skill. 

5. See note 1, supra. 

6. The phrase “without consent” is defined in § 939.22(48)(a)-(c).  That definition should be read 
to the jury at this point if consent is at issue.  See Wis JI-Criminal 948. 

7. When appropriate add:  “or is aware that his conduct is practically certain to cause that result.”  
See § 939.23(4) and Wis JI-Criminal 923B. 

8. This instruction on finding intent is a shorter version of a longer statement commonly used in 
the standard instructions.  The Committee has concluded that this shorter version is appropriate for most 
cases.  The complete, traditional, statement is found at Wis JI-Criminal 923A. 

9. The jury must make a finding of the value of the stolen property if the felony offense is charged 
and if the evidence supports a finding that the required amount is involved.  Heyroth v. State, 275 Wis. 
104, 81 N.W.2d 56 (1957).  While value may not, strictly speaking, be an element of the crime, it 
determines the range of permissible penalties and should be established “beyond a reasonable doubt.”  
The Committee concluded that if the misdemeanor offense is charged, the jury need not make a finding as 
to value. 
 

The amounts determining the penalty are set forth in § 943.50(4): 
 

- if the value of the property does not exceed $500, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor; 
- if the value of the property exceeds $500 but not $5,000, the offense is a Class I felony; 
- if the value of the property exceeds $5,000 but not $10,000, the offense is a Class H felony; and, 
- if the value of the property exceeds $10,000, the offense is a Class G felony. 

 
The above reflects changes made by 2011 Wisconsin Act 174.  Only the threshold for the Class I 

felony was changed – it was reduced to $500 from $2,500. 
 

The questions in the instruction omit the upper limits of the categories for Class I and Class H 
felonies; it is no defense that the value was actually greater than the amount alleged.  More than one 
question may be presented to the jury, however.  If the evidence would allow a reasonable jury to find, for 
example, that the value did not exceed $10,000 but did exceed $5,000, the two relevant questions could 
be submitted. 
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10. Section 943.50(1)(b), as created by Chapter 270, Laws of 1981, provides a definition of “value” 

for the purposes of “retail theft” cases: 
 

(b) “Value of merchandise” means: 
 

1. For property of the merchant, the value of the property; or 
2. For merchandise held for resale, the merchant’s stated price of the merchandise or, in 

the event of altering, transferring or removing a price marking or causing a cash register or 
other sales devise to reflect less than the merchant’s stated price, the difference between the 
merchant’s stated price of the merchandise and the altered price. 


