1848 WIS JI-CRIMINAL 1848

1848 UNEMPLOYEMENT INSURANCE FRAUD: MAKING A FALSE
STATEMENT TO OBTAIN A BENEFIT PAYMENT — § 108.24(1)(a)

Statutory Definition of the Crime

Unemployment insurance fraud, as defined in § 108.24(1)(a) of the Wisconsin
Statutes, is committed by any person who knowingly makes a false statement or
representation to obtain any benefit payment under Chapter 108, either for himself or
herself or for any other person.

State’s Burden of Proof

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by
evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following three elements
were present.

Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove

1. The defendant obtained a benefit under Chapter 108 for (himself) (herself)
(another person), by making a (statement) (representation).

2. The (statement) (representation) to obtain a benefit under Chapter 108 was false
when made.

3. The defendant knew the (statement) (representation) to obtain a benefit under

Chapter 108 was false when made.
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Deciding About Knowledge

You cannot look into a person’s mind to find knowledge. Knowledge must be found,
if found at all, from the defendant’s acts, words, and statements, if any, and from all the
facts and circumstances in this case bearing upon knowledge.

Jury’s Decision

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all three elements of this offense
have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty.

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty.

ADD THE FOLLOWING IF THE DEFENDANT IS CHARGED WITH
FRAUDULENTLY SECURING MORE THAN $2,500 AND THE EVIDENCE
WOULD SUPPORT THAT FINDING.!

If you find the defendant guilty, you must also determine beyond a reasonable doubt
the value of any unemployment insurance benefits for which the defendant was not
eligible and insert that amount in the verdict.?

Determining Value
(“Was the value of any benefit obtained more than $10,000?”
Answer: “yes” or “no.”)
(“Was the value of any benefit obtained more than $5,000?”
Answer “yes” or “no.”)

(“Was the value of any benefit obtained more than $2,500?”

Answer “yes” or “no.”)
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Before you answer “yes,” you must be satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that the

value of any benefit obtained was more than the amount stated in the question.

COMMENT
Wis JI-Criminal 1848 was approved by the Committee in July 2018.

This instruction is for criminal violations of § 108.24(1)(a), making a false statement to obtain
unemployment insurance benefit payments. The penalty structure was modified by 2017 Wisconsin Act
147 [effective date: April 1, 2018]. Fraudulently obtaining unemployment benefits not exceeding $2,500
is a Class A misdemeanor. The penalty increases to a felony if the value of the benefit received exceeds
specified amounts. There are four ranges of criminal penalties, depending on the value of the benefits or
payments obtained. See sub. (2) of § 108.24. The penalty issue is addressed by adding a special question
at the end of the instruction. See footnote 1, below.

1. The jury must make a finding of the value of the unemployment insurance benefit payment if
the felony offense is charged and if the evidence supports a finding that the required amount is involved.
Heyroth v. State, 275 Wis. 104, 81 N.W.2d 56 (1957). While value may not, strictly speaking, be an
element of the crime, it determines the range of permissible penalties and should be established “beyond a
reasonable doubt.”

2. The penalties for violations of § 108.24(1)(a) depend on the value of the payment or benefit.
The jury should be asked to determine that value. (See, by analogy, Wis JI-Criminal 1441 Theft, footnote
8.) The applicable penalty is capped by the crime charged in the complaint or information. The penalties
are specified in sub. (1)(b) as follows:

Value of benefit Penalty
less than $2,500 Class A misdemeanor

more than $2,500 but does not exceed $5,000 Class I felony
more than $5,000 but does not exceed $10,000  Class H felony
more than $10,000 Class G felony

The Committee concluded that if the securing of less than $2,500 is charged, the jury need not make
a finding of value.
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