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2102A FIRST DEGREE SEXUAL ASSAULT OF A CHILD:  SEXUAL 
CONTACT OR INTERCOURSE WITH A PERSON WHO HAS NOT 
ATTAINED THE AGE OF 13 YEARS:  CAUSING GREAT BODILY 
HARM — § 948.02(1)(am) 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

First degree sexual assault of a child, as defined in § 948.02(1)(am) of the Criminal 

Code of Wisconsin, is committed by one who has sexual [contact] [intercourse] with a 

person who has not attained the age of 13 years and causes great bodily harm to that 

person. 

 State's Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following three elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. The defendant had sexual [contact] [intercourse] with  (name of victim) . 

2.  (Name of victim)  was under the age of 13 years at the time of the alleged sexual 

[contact] [intercourse]. 

Knowledge of  (name of victim) 's age is not required1 and mistake regarding 

 (name of victim) 's age is not a defense.2 

Consent to sexual [contact] [intercourse] is not a defense.3 

3. The defendant caused great bodily harm to  (name of victim) . 
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"Great bodily harm" means injury which creates a substantial risk of death or 

which causes serious permanent disfigurement or which causes a permanent or 

protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ or 

other serious bodily injury.4 

 Meaning of [Sexual Contact] [Sexual Intercourse] 

REFER TO WIS JI-CRIMINAL 2101A FOR DEFINITION OF "SEXUAL 
CONTACT" AND WIS JI-CRIMINAL 2101B FOR DEFINITION OF 
"SEXUAL INTERCOURSE" AND INSERT THE APPROPRIATE 
DEFINITION HERE. 

 
 Jury's Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all three elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 2102A was approved by the Committee in April 2008.  It reflects changes made in 
§ 948.02 by 2007 Wisconsin Act 80. 
 

This instruction is drafted for violations of § 948.02(1)(am) as created by 2008 Wisconsin Act 80 
[effective date:  March 27, 2008].  A violation of this subsection is a Class A felony. 
 

As revised by Act 80, the statute defines the crime in the same manner as § 940.225(1)(a):  "Has 
sexual contact or sexual intercourse . . . and causes . . . great bodily harm."  Under § 940.225(1)(a), the act 
itself need not cause the great bodily harm.  See Wis JI-Criminal 1201, footnote 1, and State v. 
Schambow, 176 Wis.2d 286, 298-99, 500 N.W.2d 362 (Ct. App. 1993).  The Wisconsin Legislative 
Council Act Memo for 2007 Wisconsin Act 80 states that the revision "clarifies that harm to the victim 
caused by the offender at the time of a first-degree sexual of a child, and not necessarily caused by the 
sexual intercourse or contact, would satisfy the great bodily harm element . . ." 
 

The revised instruction provides for inserting definitions of "sexual contact" and "sexual intercourse" 
provided in Wis JI-Criminal 2101A and 2101B.  That definitional material was formerly included in the 
text of each offense instruction.  When a new alternative was added to the statutory definition of sexual 
contact by 1995 Wisconsin Act 69, the Committee decided to modify its original approach by providing 
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separate instructions for the definitions.  The Committee believes that this will be more convenient to the 
users of the instructions, making it easier to prepare an instruction that is tailored to the facts of the case. 

 
Section 939.66(2p), created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430, provides that a "crime which is a less 

serious or equally serious type of violation under s. 948.02 than the one charged" is a lesser included 
crime. 
 

1. See § 939.23(6). 

2. See § 939.43(2). 

3. "Without consent" is not an element of this offense, and the Committee concluded it may be 
helpful to advise the jury of that fact. 

4. See § 939.22(14) and Wis JI-Criminal 914.  The reference to "other serious bodily injury" at the 
end of the statutory definition is intended to broaden the scope of the statute rather than to limit it by 
application of an "ejusdem generis" rationale.  LaBarge v. State, 74 Wis.2d 327, 246 N.W.2d 794 (1976). 


