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2102D FIRST DEGREE SEXUAL ASSAULT OF A CHILD:  SEXUAL 
CONTACT WITH A PERSON WHO HAS NOT ATTAINED THE AGE 
OF 16 YEARS BY USE OR THREAT OF FORCE OR VIOLENCE BY A 
PERSON WHO HAS ATTAINED THE AGE OF 18 YEARS — § 
948.02(1)(d) 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

First degree sexual assault of a child, as defined in § 948.02(1)(d) of the Criminal 

Code of Wisconsin, is committed by a person who has attained the age of 18 years who 

has sexual contact with a person who has not attained the age of 16 years by the use or 

threat of force or violence. 

 State's Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following four elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. The defendant had sexual contact with  (name of victim) . 

2. The defendant had attained the age of 18 years. 

3.  (Name of victim)  was under the age of 16 years at the time of the alleged sexual 

contact. 

Knowledge of  (name of victim) 's age is not required1 and mistake regarding 

 (name of victim) 's age is not a defense.2 
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4. The defendant had sexual contact with  (name of victim)  by the use or threat of 

force or violence. 

The use or threat of force of violence may occur at any time before or as part 

of the sexual contact.3 

As a matter of law, a person who has not attained the age of 16 years cannot 

consent to sexual contact.  Any consideration of the conduct of  (name of victim)  

must be limited to determining whether the defendant had sexual contact by the 

use or threat of force or violence.4 

[The phrase "use or threat of force or violence" includes forcible sexual 

contact or force used as the means of making sexual contact.]5 

 Meaning of Sexual Contact  

REFER TO WIS JI-CRIMINAL 2101A FOR DEFINITION OF "SEXUAL 
CONTACT" AND INSERT THE APPROPRIATE DEFINITION HERE. 

 
 Jury's Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all four elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 2102D was approved by the Committee in April 2008.  It reflects changes made in 
§ 948.02 by 2007 Wisconsin Act 80. 
 

Section 948.02(1)(d) was created by 2008 Wisconsin Act 80 [effective date:  March 27, 2008].  The 
offense is a Class B felony. 
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Section 939.66(2p), created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 430, provides that a "crime which is a less 
serious or equally serious type of violation under s. 948.02 than the one charged" is a lesser included 
crime. 
 

1. See § 939.23(6). 

2. See § 939.43(2). 

3. This is based on State v. Hayes, 2003 WI App 99, 264 Wis.2d 377, 633 N.W.2d 351, discussed 
in footnote 2, Wis JI-Criminal 1208. 

4. This material is used in place of the statement in other instructions for child sexual assault 
offenses that "consent is not a defense" because the latter could be interpreted as inconsistent with the 
defendant's right to challenge proof of the "by the use or threat of force or violence" element by reference 
to conduct of the victim.  For a similar situation, see Wis JI-Criminal 926, Contributory Negligence. 

5. See State v.Bonds, 165 Wis.2d 27, 477 N.W.2d 265 (1991), discussed in footnote 5, Wis 
JI-Criminal 1208. 


