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2146B CHILD PORNOGRAPHY:  EXHIBITING OR PLAYING A 
RECORDING — § 948.12(2m) 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

Section 948.12(2m) of the Criminal Code of Wisconsin, is violated by one who 

knowingly exhibits or plays a recording of a child engaged in sexually explicit conduct, 

knows the character and content of the sexually explicit conduct in the material, and 

knows or reasonably should know that the child has not attained the age of 18 years. 

 State’s Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following four elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. The defendant knowingly (exhibited)1 (played) a recording.2 

“Recording” means a reproduction of an image or a sound or the storage of 

data representing an image or a sound.3 

2. The recording showed a child engaged in sexually explicit conduct. 

A child is a person who is under the age of 18 years.4 

“Sexually explicit conduct” means5 actual or simulated [sexual intercourse] 

[bestiality] [masturbation] [sexual sadism or sexual masochistic abuse] [lewd 

exhibition of (name intimate part)].6 
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3. The defendant knew that the recording showed a person engaged in actual or 

simulated                      .7 

4. The defendant knew or reasonably should have known8 that the person shown in 

the recording engaged in sexually explicit conduct was under the age of 18 years. 

 Jury’s Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all four elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

ADD THE FOLLOWING IF THE OFFENSE WAS CHARGED AS A 
CLASS D FELONY AND THERE IS EVIDENCE THAT THE DEFENDANT 
WAS 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER AT THE TIME OF THE OFFENSE.9 

 
If you find the defendant guilty, you must answer the following question: 

“Had the defendant attained the age of 18 years at the time of the offense?” 

Before you may answer the question “yes,” you must be satisfied beyond a 

reasonable doubt that the answer is “yes.” 

If you are not so satisfied, you must answer the question “no.” 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 2146B was originally published in 2002 and revised in 2004 and 2007.  The 2007 
revision involved adding a special question at the end of the instruction and updating the Comment.  This 
revision was approved by the Committee in July 2019 and reflects changes to the Comment made by 
2019 Wisconsin Act 16 [effective date:  July 12, 2019]. 
 

This instruction is for a violation of § 948.12(2m), as created by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, effective 
date:  September 1, 2001.  For a violation of § 948.12(1m), as amended by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, see 
Wis JI-Criminal 2146A, Possession of Child Pornography. 
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The United States Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of a New York statute prohibiting 
persons from distributing child pornography in New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982).  The statute 
before the court differed from § 948.12, but some of the decision’s discussion of constitutional issues 
implicated by prohibiting child pornography may be relevant to questions arising under the Wisconsin 
statute. 
 

Section 948.12 was also amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 433, effective date:  June 6, 2006.  Act 
433 changed the penalty structure:  the offense is a Class D felony if the defendant was over the age of 18 
years at the time of the offense; it is a Class I felony if the defendant was under the age of 18.  The 
instruction reflects this change by adding a special question to be used where the Class D felony is 
charged.  If the Class I felony is charged, the instruction should be used without the special question. 
 

NOTE:  2005 Wisconsin Act 433 created § 939.617 Minimum sentence for certain child sex 
offenses.  It provides for a presumptive minimum sentence of 3 years for violations of § 948.12. 
 

1. 2001 Wisconsin Act 16 created § 948.01(1d), which reads as follows: 
 

(1d) “Exhibit,” with respect to a recording of an image that is not viewable in its recorded form, 
means to convert the recording of the image into a form in which the image may be viewed. 

2. Section 948.12(2m)(a) requires that “the person knows that he or she has exhibited or played the 
recording.”  Rather than state this as a separate element, the Committee concluded it was clearer to use 
the phrase “knowingly (exhibited) (played) a recording.” 

3. This is based on the definition provided in § 948.01(3r), created by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, 
effective date:  September 1, 2001.  “Means” was substituted for the phrase “include the creation of” used 
in the statutory definition.  No change in substance was intended. 

4. Section 948.01(1) defines “child” as “a person who has not attained the age of 18 years.” 

5. Section 948.01(7) defines “sexually explicit conduct” as follows: 
 

“Sexually explicit conduct” means actual or simulated: 
(a) Sexual intercourse, meaning vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio or anal 

intercourse between persons or any other intrusion, however slight, of any part of a 
person’s body or of any object into the genital or anal opening either by a person or 
upon the person’s instruction.  The emission of semen is not required; 

(b) Bestiality; 
(c) Masturbation; 
(d) Sexual sadism or sexual masochistic abuse including, but not limited to, flagellation, 

torture or bondage; or 
(e) Lewd exhibition of intimate parts. 

6. The definition of “sexually explicit conduct” was amended by 1995 Wisconsin Act 67, which 
substituted “intimate parts” for “the genitals or pubic area” in sub. (7)(e).  Effective date:  Dec. 2, 1995.  
“Intimate parts” is defined as follows in § 939.22(19): 
 

“Intimate parts” means the breast, buttock, anus, groin, scrotum, penis, vagina, or pubic mound 
of a human being. 
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The definition of “lewd exhibition of intimate part” was created by 2019 Wisconsin Act 16 [effective 
date:  July 12, 2019], which states:  “‘Lewd exhibition of intimate parts’ means the display of less than 
fully and opaquely covered intimate parts of a person who is posed as a sex object or in a way that places 
an unnatural or unusual focus on the intimate parts.”  Wis. Stat. 948.01(1t). 
 

In State v. Petrone, 161 Wis.2d 530, 468 N.W.2d 676 (1991), the Wisconsin Supreme Court 
reviewed a trial court’s instruction defining “lewd” in a case prosecuted under § 940.203, 1987 Wis. Stats.  
The court concluded that “[t]hree concepts are generally included in defining ‘lewd’ and sexually 
explicit. . .  [M]ere nudity is not enough – the pictures must display the child’s genital area . . . the 
photographs must be sexually suggestive; and . . . the jurors may use common sense to determine whether 
the photographs were lewd.”  161 Wis.2d 530, 561. 

7. Insert the name of the type of conduct used in the preceding element.  Section 948.12(2) 
requires that “the person know the character and content of the sexually explicit conduct shown in the 
material.”  (Emphasis added.)  The Committee concluded that stating this requirement as, for example, 
“knowing that the photograph showed actual or simulated sexual intercourse” adequately covers the 
“character and content” aspect. 

8. The “knew or reasonably should have known” requirement is explicitly set forth in 
§ 948.12(2m)(c).  This is contrary to the general rule in the Criminal Code that knowledge of the age of a 
minor victim is not required and mistake about age is not a defense.  See §§ 939.23(6) and 939.43(2).  
The same element in sub. (1m) was held to satisfy the requirement that pornography statutes include 
“scienter.”  State v. Schaefer, 2003 WI App 164, ¶36, 266 Wis.2d 719, 668 N.W.2d 760. 

9. Section 948.12 was amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 433, effective date:  June 6, 2006.  Act 
433 changed the penalty structure:  the offense is a Class D felony if the defendant was over the age of 18 
years at the time of the offense; it is a Class I felony if the defendant was under the age of 18.  The 
instruction reflects this change by adding a special question to be used where the Class D felony is 
charged.  If the Class I felony is charged, the instruction should be used without the special question. 
 

As with similar penalty-increasing facts, the Committee believes this issue is best handled by 
submitting it to the jury as a special question.  The following form is suggested for the verdict: 
 

We, the jury, find the defendant guilty of child pornography:  exhibiting or playing a 
recording, under sec. 948.12(2m), at the time and place charged in the information. 

 
We, the jury, find the defendant not guilty. 

 
If you find the defendant guilty, answer the following question “yes” or “no.” 

 
“Had the defendant attained the age of 18 years at the time of the offense?” 


