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2167A INTERFERENCE WITH CUSTODY OF A NONMARITAL CHILD — 
§ 948.31(2)1 

 
Statutory Definition of the Crime 

Interference with the custody of a child, as defined in § 948.31(2) of the Criminal 

Code of Wisconsin, is committed by one who (causes a child to leave) (takes a child 

away) (withholds a child for more than 12 hours)2 from the (mother of the child) (father 

of the child, if he has been granted legal custody) without the consent3 of the (mother) 

(father) where the child is a nonmarital child whose parents have not intermarried. 

 State's Burden of Proof 

Before you may find the defendant guilty of this offense, the State must prove by 

evidence which satisfies you beyond a reasonable doubt that the following four elements 

were present. 

 Elements of the Crime That the State Must Prove 

1. On  (date of alleged offense) ,  (name of child)  had not attained the age of 18 

years.4 

2.  (Name of parent)  was the (mother) (father who had been granted legal custody) 

of  (name of child) . 

3.  (Name of child)  is a nonmarital child. 

A nonmarital child is one who is neither conceived nor born while his or her 

parents are lawfully married to each other and whose parents have not 

subsequently married each other.5 



 
2167A WIS JI-CRIMINAL 2167A 
 
 

 
 
© 2009, Regents, Univ. of Wis. (Rel. No. 47—5/2009) 
 2 

4. The defendant (caused  (name of child)  to leave) (took  (name of child)  away) 

(withheld  (name of child)  for more than 12 hours)6 from  (name of parent)  

without(his) (her) consent.7 

"Without consent" means no consent in fact.8 

The act need not be accompanied by force or violence. 

 Jury's Decision 

If you are satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt that all four elements of this offense 

have been proved, you should find the defendant guilty. 

If you are not so satisfied, you must find the defendant not guilty. 

 
COMMENT 
 

Wis JI-Criminal 2167A was originally published in 1989.  This revision was approved by the 
Committee in April 2009 and involved adoption of a new format and nonsubstantive changes to the text. 
 

This instruction is for a violation of § 948.31(2), created by 1987 Wisconsin Act 332 as part of the 
revision of the criminal statutes relating to crimes against children.  It applies to offenses committed on or 
after July 1, 1989.  This instruction replaces Wis JI-Criminal 1835A which applied to what was 
essentially the same offense under § 946.71(4), 1985-86 Wis. Stats., a statute repealed by 1987 Wisconsin 
Act 332. 
 

Affirmative defenses are recognized by subsection (4) of § 948.31.  The burden of persuasion is 
placed on the defendant to establish them by a preponderance of the evidence.  See the discussion of the 
affirmative defense provision in Wis JI-Criminal 2169. 
 

1. Wis JI-Criminal 2167A is drafted for a violation of § 948.31(2) which involves taking a child 
from the mother of a nonmarital child or from the father of the child, if he has been granted legal custody.  
For a case involving a taking of a marital child from the parents, see Wis JI-Criminal 2167. 
 

In State v. Hill, 91 Wis.2d 446, 283 N.W.2d 451 (Ct. App. 1979), the court held that the 
then-existing version of the statute replaced by § 948.31(1) did not deny equal protection of the laws or 
due process to fathers of nonmarital children. 

2. Section 948.31(2) reads in part as follows:  ". . . causes a child to leave, takes a child away or 
withholds a child for more than 12 hours . . ."  The Committee interprets this statute as prohibiting any 
causing to leave, any taking away, and the withholding for more than 12 hours.  That is, the "for more 
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than 12 hours" applies only to the "withholding" alternative, not to the causing to leave or taking.  [Note: 
the "withholding" alternative under this statute does not include a reference to "beyond the 
court-approved period" that is included in sub. (1)(b) of § 948.31).] 
 

The 2009 revision added all the statutory alternatives, in parentheses, to the text of the instruction.  
This was done to avoid the problem that arose in State v. Inglin, 224 Wis.2d 764, 592 N.W.2d 666 (Ct. 
App. 1999), where the trial court may have inadvertently failed to completely revise the standard 
instruction for a "withholding" case under § 948.31(1)(b).  The error was not prejudicial because the court 
of appeals found the evidence was sufficient to support conviction for "taking away."  See note 8, below. 
 

"A defendant causes a child to leave a parent if the defendant is responsible for or brings about an 
abandoning, departing or going away from the parent.  'Causes to leave' suggests the defendant engages in 
some sort of mental, rather than physical, manipulation by doing things to persuade the child to leave the 
parent.  Force or violence is unnecessary and the conduct need not be intentional."  State v. Bowden, 2007 
WI App 234, ¶16, 306 Wis.2d 393, 742 N.W.2d 332.  Also see, State v. Samuel, 2001 WI App 25, 240 
Wis.2d 756, 623 N.W.2d 565. 

3. Section 948.31(2) (as amended by 1989 Wisconsin Act 31, section 2836ym) concludes with the 
statement:  "This subsection is not applicable if legal custody has been granted by court order to the 
person taking or withholding the child."  The Committee assumes that court consent is usually a matter of 
record and can be clearly resolved.  In a case where court consent is a factual issue, the Committee 
concluded that the matter should be treated in the same manner as other statutory exceptions.  That is, the 
matter of court consent need not be included in the criminal complaint and only becomes an issue when it 
is raised by the evidence.  If the issue is raised by the evidence, the state must prove beyond a reasonable 
doubt that there was no consent by the court.  The phrase "or consent of the court" could simply be added 
at this point and to the third element. 

4. The statute applies to interfering with the custody of any "child," defined in § 948.01(1) as "any 
person who has not attained the age of 18 years."  This is a change from the counterpart offense under 
prior law, which applied only to children under the age of 14.  See § 946.71(4), 1985-86 Wis. Stats. 

5. This definition of "nonmarital child" is based on the one provided in § 990.01(23m).  Both the 
§ 990.01(23m) definition and the statement of this offense in § 948.31(2) include the reference:  "where 
parents do not intermarry under s. 767.60."  Section 767.60 provides that a nonmarital child becomes a 
marital child "[i]n any case where the father and mother of any nonmarital child shall enter into a lawful 
marriage."  Since the section apparently applies to any subsequent marriage of the parents of a nonmarital 
child, there appeared to be no reason to include it in the instruction. 

6. Section 948.31(2) does not require that the acts be done "intentionally."  (Compare 
§ 948.31(1)(b) and § 946.71(4), 1985-86 Wis. Stats., which do include "intentionally.")  The Committee 
assumed this was not an inadvertent omission and neither "intentionally" nor any knowledge requirement 
is included in the instruction.  (Compare Wis JI-Criminal 2166 for violations of § 948.31(1)(b).) 

7. Add "or consent of the court" if there is evidence of court consent in the case.  See note 3, supra. 

8. See § 939.22(48).   Where a parent consents to the taking of the child based on the defendant's 
misrepresentation about the nature of the taking, "public policy calls for treatment of the consent . . . as a 
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nullity."  State v. Inglin, 224 Wis.2d 764, 773, 592 N.W.2d 666 (Ct. App. 1999), citing § 939.48(22)(c). 


