Wisconsin State Law Library

Serving the Wisconsin Supreme Court and State of Wisconsin

Skip to content

Website Catalog

Request Fees & Policies

How to pay fees

Prepayment is required for forms and custom orders. There are several ways to pay. For custom orders and payments, first contact a law librarian with your request to verify the amount due. A 5.5% sales tax is added when applicable. Tax exempt and out-of-state customers do not pay sales tax.

Credit Card

Visa or MasterCard credit card payments are accepted online, by phone (800-322-9755), or in person. Pay fees online with the Court System's epayment option. A non-refundable payment processing fee will be charged for each online payment.

Pay fees online

Order fixed price forms and register for the David T. Prosser Jr. Library's after hours service. For custom orders and payments, first contact a law librarian with your request. A librarian will give you the total amount due, which can be paid using the "Other" field (pictured below) to fill in a custom amount.

Example of fees page Other category

Use the OTHER field for custom payment amounts

Check, Cash or Money Order

Do not send cash in the mail. Mail your payment, a note stating what you've requested, and your mailing address, fax number or email address as needed, to:

Wisconsin State Law Library
Attn: Document Delivery Service
P.O. Box 7881
Madison, WI 53707-7881

Check or money orders are payable to Wisconsin State Law Library

Invoice

Payment by invoice is available for law offices, government agencies, and other businesses. The State Law Library will establish an account, using your business mailing address, phone number, fax number, and if necessary, your email address. Accounts with past due balances may be required to prepay. We will send an invoice with your materials. Payment by cash, check, credit card, or money order is due on receipt and payable from the invoice. We do not issue statements. Do not send cash in the mail.

Pay an invoice by credit card

Visa or MasterCard credit card payments are accepted online, by phone (800-322-9755), or in person. A non-refundable online payment processing fee will be charged for each online payment.

Pay fees online

To pay an invoice online, use the fee payment link above and fill in the invoice amount in the "Other" field (pictured below). Select "OTHER" and fill in the PRE-TAX custom amount from your invoice. A 5.5% sales tax is added automatically.

Example of fees page Other category

Order a Document & Self-Service Fees

Self Service

Photocopies, printouts and fiche-to-print copies made by library users

25¢ per copy at WSLL
25¢ per copy at MCLL*
25¢ per copy at DCLL*
*includes sales tax

 

Photocopy, Printing & Delivery Services Provided By Library Staff

Photocopies, printouts or fiche-to-print copies or delivered by Email, Fax, FedEx Express* or Mail

75¢ per page, $15.00 minimum

Large mail orders are weighed & billed at standard first class or priority mail rates

*FedEx Express: additional $5.00 handling fee, and FedEx Express charges are billed directly to customer’s FedEx account

Email delivery of documents already in digital format

$15.00 per document

Photocopies, printouts or fiche-to-print copies made for pick up or for an on-site customer

75¢ per page, no minimum

Sending or receiving fax on behalf of a customer

75¢ per page, no minimum

 

Certification of Copies

Copies certified by the State Law Librarian, pursuant to Wis. Statutes 889.03 and 809.25(2)

$1.00 per certificate and seal

 

Computerized Legal Research Service

Online citator searches

$15.00 per citation, including delivery of results (a list of citations)

Topical searches performed by library staff

$25.00 service fee plus actual search costs**

Notes:

**Actual search costs include $6.00 per online minute, plus delivery of printouts at the rates listed above. Service only available to licensed attorneys.

Additional charges levied by vendors for specialty databases or delivery formats will be passed on to the customer.

 

Billing Fees

Accounts that are billed on a regular basis (This service is available to local law firms and government agencies only)

$8.00 per month, paid in annual lump sum
OR
$8.00 per invoice for billing intervals other than monthly

Users who make or pick up copies at the library and wish to be billed on a one-time basis

$3.00/invoice

 

Handling Fees

Circulation of library materials by mail

$12.00 per item. Borrower is also responsible for return postage.

Forms shipping fee

$3.00 per envelope

 

Borrow By Mail guidelines

Judges and attorneys licensed to practice in Wisconsin may use our Borrow by Mail service to borrow library materials and have them shipped directly to an office address. Materials are shipped one to two business days after you place your request.

Attorneys

  • Cost depends on the delivery method you choose.

    • FedEx delivery: $12.00 per item, plus FedEx Express charges billed directly to your FedEx account. You are responsible for return delivery costs.
    • Interlibrary delivery to the MCLL: No charge. You may also return the materials there for free delivery back to the State Law Library, or ship them directly at your own expense.

  • Your loan period is 4 weeks, with an option to renew them for four more weeks if needed. You may renew materials online with your library card number, or you may contact wsll.ref@wicourts.gov for assistance.

Judges

  • Materials are shipped at no charge; you are responsible for return delivery costs.
  • We use FedEx unless you request another method.
  • Your loan period is 30 days, and you may renew materials online with your library card number or by contacting wsll.ref@wicourts.gov.

Interlibrary Loan guidelines

Are you looking for a book or article we don't have in our collection? We can request this item from another library through our Interlibrary Loan service.

What can be requested? We can place requests for any item but libraries owning that item may choose not to loan. Materials in a library's reference collection and loose-leaf sets are often not loaned.

What is the cost? If the item is loaned to our library, you will be asked to pay the cost set by the lending library. Generally, lending libraries charge fees ranging from $5.00-$50.00

How do I start? Contact a law librarian with your request. Please provide as much information about the item as possible, a date you need it by, and the total amount you would be willing to pay to borrow the item.

For more information see our FAQs or our Interlibrary Loan policy.

Classes & Tours

  • Need to get a refresher course or a tour of the library? Looking for CLE classes?
  • Check our Classes and Library Tours

Questions?

Ask a Question Top of Page